Jesse Marsch to return for Year 4
November 8, 2017

At today's season-ending press conference, Denis Hamlett announced that Jesse Marsch will return for 2018. Leaving aside the hilarity that, at this point a year ago, Marsch was Hamlett's boss, let's discuss a very important milestone:

Marsch would become the first coach in team history to make it to Year 4.

Before Marsch, only two coaches have gotten three full years: Octavio Zambrano (2000-02) and Hans Backe (2010-12). Both were fired after the third season was over. Bob Bradley (2003-05) did not make it the full three, fired by the clown, Alexi Lalas, with three games left in the regular season. (Still the worst decision in team history.)

The rest haven't come close. As much as we like Marsch, we still weep about the idiocy that led to the firing of Mike Petke (2013-14). Bruce Arena didn't even get two full seasons (2006-07). (Firing him was the second worst decision in team history.) Neither did the brainless professor, Juan Carlos Osorio (2007-08). The rest is just scraps, from Eddie Firmani, to Carlos Queiroz, to Carlos Alberto Parreira, to Alfonso Mondelo, to Bora Milutinovic, to Mo Johnston.

So, congrats, Jesse, for reaching the milestone. Actually... let's hold that thought. Year 4 hasn't started yet. You'll probably be around when it does...

Of course, with this franchise, crazier things have happened.

•  News Archive
•  Rumor Mill
•  Weekly Awards
•  Season Ratings
•  Last Game Ratings

•  History Overview
•  All-Time Roster
•  All-Time Results
•  All-Time Stats
•  Team Records
•  Hall of Fame
•  All-Time XI
•  Numeric Roster
•  International Roster
•  Coaching History
•  Draft History
•  Trophy Case
•  Historical Features
•  Honors History
•  Award History
•  Ratings History

Home · Team · News · History · Boards · Stuff · About